Each time you edit an archived e-mail a new version of that e-mail is created in the HSM Store.
Different versions of an archived e-mail can be checked in the Versions window. To do so just click the Versions command on the Archive Manager tab (Figures 4.17).
The Versions window appears, showing all the versions of the respective archived e-mail (Figure 4.18). You can choose to display each version (by clicking the Display button), restore them or create a new e-mail from the selected version. By restoring a selected version, the respective version of that e-mail will be retrieved and deleted (optional) from the archive. By selecting a version and then clicking on the Create new button you create a new e-mail based on that respective version. This newly created e-mail is not archived.
If you want to make a new version of an archived e-mail, just open it for editing (Figure 4.19). After saving the changes, a new version is saved in the archive.
The full-text search engine searches for keywords in every version of an e-mail. Therefore search results may contain more than one version of the same e-mail. (Figure 4.20)
Working with archived e-mails is possible even when you use your MS Exchange Server mailbox offline.
Before switching to offline mode you must synchronize your Outlook mailbox with the MS Exchange Server. If you also plan to work with your archived e-mails you need to synchronize in Archive Manager as well.
To work offline with archived e-mails:
1.run Outlook synchronization
2.synchronize offline with Archive Manager (click on the Archive Manager tab and then on Offline Folder Synchronization) (Figure 4.21)
NOTE: Auto synchronization is also possible. See the Cache settings section.
After working offline and reconnecting to your MS Exchange Server, first you need to synchronize your Outlook mailbox with MS Exchange Server. Then you need to synchronize your Outlook mailbox with Archive Manager Server as well by doing so you will update your Outlook mailbox with its current status on the MS Exchange Server.
The Options window has three tabs - Archive, Offline, and Other.
On the Archive tab (Figure 4.22) the location of Retrieve and Archive servers can be verified. To achieve load balancing, more than one Archive Manager server could be configured during installation. In that case the Retrieve server is used only for retrieving and Archive server for archiving. However, retrieve and archive server could be the same machine.
When AddIn is installed, the primary retrieve server and archive server are defined. (In some cases Archive and Retrieve Server fields may be blank. In that case, please fill in the server names manually.) The AddIn loads the list of available servers from the primary archive server. When retrieve is performed, the primary retrieve server is used, if this is not available, the next server on the list is used.
In case that HTTPS is used in your environment, check the https check box.
When Reset to default is clicked, Archive and Retrieve server values are reset to default.
When Reset all settings is clicked, all settings on all tabs will be reset to default.
The Offline tab is used for configuring the cache settings for more details see the next section.
On the Offline tab you can set the time for automatic offline synchronization. Just select either the Auto synchronize when Outlook starts or the Auto synchronize when Outlook exits option.
You can even schedule offline synchronization to run every x minutes which is useful e.g. in case of unexpected network breakdown. To do so, check Schedule offlline synchronization every check box and enter the desired time interval in the minutes text box.
If you check the Show progress dialog check box, the dialog will pop up whenever the scheduled offline synchronization is running.
When clicking on the Folder settings button, the Offline and cache settings window is displayed. Here you may check the current location of the AddIn Cache and also specify cache settings.
You may clear the cache folder when clicking on the Clear cache button. By clicking on the Settings button the Cache folder settings window appears. Here you can set the global size limit OR the global date limit for the cache folder. (Do not forget to check the Limit cache by date check box if you want to apply the date limit.)
In our example (Figure 4.26) the maximum size of the cache is set to 2050 MB. However, the Limit cache by date is checked and thus the cache size limit is ignored.
The global date limit is set to 36 days, i.e. emails older than 36 days will not be cached at offline folder synchronization. User working offline will be able to see the shortcuts of all archived emails but will be able to work only with those which were received in last 36 days.
NOTE: When reducing the size or date limit, Addin will ask if you want to delete the oldest items if the actual status of the cache exceeds the defined values.
In the Offline folders section further configure the offline synchronization. You can define which folders you want to synchronize. For each selected folder you may choose if you want to set a limit value for its size or limit it by date, e.g. items received within last 15 days will be cached. (Figure 4.27)
NOTE: The local size and date limits (i.e. limits defined for individual folders) are applicable only within the range of global limits specified in the Cache folder settings as described above.
If Use Outlooks offline settings is checked, Addin synchronize folders that are defined in Outlook settings. However, it is possible to apply size or date limit for individual folders.
To select your own folders for synchronization you have to unselect the Use Outlooks offline settings check box. Then select the desired folders in the list.
To handle all subfolders of individual folders comfortably, right-click the desired folder to unfold its context menu (Figure 4.28):
Click Apply the same settings for subfolders command to copy folder settings to its subfolders.
NOTE: If you have set the size limit (e.g. to 100MG for Inbox) and clicked Apply the same settings for subfolders command on the context menu of the selected folder, this size limit is set for every subfolder (i.e. 100MG for Subfolder1, 100MG for Subfolder2, ).