Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Metalogix Archive Manager for Exchange 8.1.1 - Administration Guide

Getting Started Enterprise Manager Tools Manager view
Groups tab Settings tab Public folders tab Jobs tab Retention tab – Retention Categories management Post Processing tab Locations tab
Archive view Status view Toolbar icons - Description Advanced Search Appendix

Delete Files job

The purpose of the Delete Files job is to purge following items from the archive:

·Items marked for deletion upon expiration of their Retention + Keep alive time

·Items whose Delete time, if such was defined, has elapsed (Delete time = maximal time for which the items can reside in archive)

info

TIP: Undelete feature of Archive Manager for Exchange allows user to list archived items that are marked for deletion in Outlook folder.

If the Undelete feature is implemented, user can perform Undelete operation on such items marked for deletion. After the undelete operation the item(s) will have the same status as regular archived items. Upon expiration of their retention time they will still reside in the archive. For details on how to configure this feature in 3 simple steps see the "Enabling Undelete Feature" short guide.

In the previous section we described how certain items can be marked for deletion. Once marked, such files can be deleted from the HSM store upon the expiration of their retention period – and this is done by the Delete Files job. THIS JOB REMOVES THEM DEFINITELY FROM THE ARCHIVE, thus freeing up space in your archive for further usage.

As with other scheduled jobs, the Delete Files job shall run in the background with predefined settings. BUT BE CAREFUL WHEN USING THIS JOB AS IT COMPLETELY DELETES EMAILS FROM ARCHIVE (after their Retention + Keep alive time or Delete time has elapsed).

To define the Delete Files job:

1.In Manager view, click on the Jobs tab.

2.Click with your right mouse button inside the left pane. A context menu appears. In the context menu select New job.

3.In the Job Settings window that appears, select Delete Files on the General tab. Do not forget to enter a name in the Job name text box. Then specify your scheduling criteria on the Scheduler tab. Finish by clicking OK.

j-delete

info

NOTE: There can be ONLY ONE Delete Files job defined. As with other scheduled jobs, the Delete Files job runs in the background with predefined settings.

Normal job

In previous sections we have described five pre-defined types of jobs. All of them are unique. The fifth one, the normal type is used for archiving of emails of a specific group. There are no limitations as to the number of normal jobs.

To define a Normal job:

1.In Manager view, click on the Jobs tab.

2.Click with your right mouse button inside the left pane. A context menu appears. In the context menu select New job.

3.In the Job Settings window that appears, select Normal on the General tab. Do not forget to enter a name in the Job name text box.

4.Then specify your scheduling criteria on the Retention, Scheduler, and Compression tabs. Finish by clicking OK.

info

NOTE: To archive emails of a specific group, the job has to be assigned to that group (see the following section How to archive emails of a group via a job).

k-normal

Jobs that you create will be displayed in the left pane on the Jobs tab (in Manager view). Under the Status field you may check their current status.

·Scheduled (displayed green) means that the job is scheduled and currently archiving emails or in a stand-by mode until it restarts again;

·Stopped (displayed red) means that the job, although might be scheduled, is currently not active.

In the right pane you will see the respective job’s settings displayed.

Change the status to Scheduled simply by clicking on the Schedule button or by right-clicking the respective job and selecting Schedule in the context menu. You may stop an already scheduled job by clicking on the Stop button or by right-clicking the respective job and selecting Stop in the context menu.

At the bottom of the right pane you should specify the backup time, in other words the period during which jobs are not supposed to run, in order to enable database backup. If it is not set, no archiving is possible. Just enter the time in the Backup start time and Backup stop time fields and then press Update. You may for instance schedule your database backup over night. Pay attention to this backup period, as no jobs should be running at that time.

l-properties

info

NOTE: Jobs which are running at the moment are highlighted in green in the Existing jobs pane of the Jobs tab.

How to archive emails of a group via a job

On the figure below you can see the Group tab of the Manager view. List in the left pane displays groups of users synchronized with Archive Manager. Some group icons are displayed in green, the others not. Green indicates that the group has been activated for archiving.

m-group

When you select a group on the Groups tab its properties are subsequently displayed in the right pane.

The right pane is useful as there you can see some of the group’s properties. For example on the previous figure you can see that SEA Pilote is activated for archiving (Enabled: Yes), scheduling will be done with 9pm-archiving (Scheduled in job: 9pm-archiving), Outbox and Deleted items folders are excluded from automated archiving (Exclude folders: Outbox, Deleted items), all files bigger than 10.24 MB will be archived (Archive files bigger than: 10.24 MB), message classes that will be archived include IPM.Note, IPM.Post, IPM.Document (Included message classes: IPM.Note, IPM.Post, IPM.Document).

info

NOTE: For more information on group settings see the section “Setting criteria for group archiving”.

To archive emails of a group via a desired job:

1.In Manager view click on the Groups tab.

2.Right-click a desired group and, in its context menu, click Properties to open its Properties window.

3.On the General tab check if that group has been activated for archiving (the Allow to archive check box must be selected). Then click Apply.

n-allow

4.On the Scheduler tab select the desired job in the Selected job dropdown menu. Click Apply and OK to confirm all.

o-scheduler

How to change job settings

Job settings cannot be changed while the job is scheduled or running. You need to stop it first.

To change job settings:

1.In Manager view, click on the Jobs tab.

2.Select the desired job. Then click on the Stop button in the right pane. (Or you may right-click the respective job and in its context menu click Stop.)

r-StartStop

3.Then click on the Change button (ARCHIV1) next to the Stop button (or right-click the respective job and, in its context menu, click Change settings).

4.In the Job Settings window specify your new settings on the respective tabs.

5.When it is done, do not forget to click on the Schedule button (archiv2) in the right pane to schedule the job again (or right-click it and, in its context menu, click Schedule).

Related Documents