Chat now with support
Chat with Support

GPOADmin 5.13.5 - User Guide

Introducing Quest GPOADmin Configuring GPOADmin Using GPOADmin
Connecting to the Version Control system Navigating the GPOADmin console Search folders Accessing the GPMC extension Configuring user preferences Working with the live environment Working with controlled objects (version control root) Checking compliance Editing objects Synchronizing GPOs Exporting and importing
Creating Reports Working with the GPOADmin Dashboard Appendix: Windows PowerShell Commands Appendix: GPOADmin Event Log Appendix: GPOADmin Backup and Recovery Procedures Appendix: Customizing your workflow Appendix: GPOADmin Silent Installation Commands About Us

Establishing Management for an Object

If you have the Modify Managed By right, you can set the user responsible for an object’s management.

1
Expand the Version Control Root node, and select an object.

Viewing history

You can easily create a report that displays the historical settings for objects in the Version Control system or a comparison of versions. When you view the history in the GPMC Extension, all events are shown. The GPOADmin console has a filter option that you can use to choose which events to display.

1
Expand the Version Control Root node, and the required container.
6
Click Print to print the report.
Click Save As to save the report in HTML.
7
Click Close.
3
Click Print to print the report.
Click Save As to save the report in HTML.
4
Click Close.

For more information on the available reports, see Creating Reports .

Deleting version history

As you progress an object through the Version Control workflow, GPOADmin keeps an audit trail, as well as a history of all minor and major versions. If you no longer need to keep this history, you can selectively delete any of the versions except your last backup. Only the object settings are deleted; the audit trail is preserved, and you still see the entry in the object history. Deletions are permanent.

If required, you can select to remove the user account associated with the action from the view.

1
Expand the Version Control Root node, and the required container.
3
In the History dialog box, select a version from the list. (Press CTRL and click to select multiple versions.)

You can only delete major and minor versions. If you have Show All Events enabled, events that have occurred between versions cannot be deleted, as there are no settings associated with them.
Delete: This will delete the backup associated with the action.
Delete and Clear Account: This deletes the backup and clears the account name associated with the action.
2
In the bottom pane, select a version. (Press CTRL and click to select multiple versions.)
3
Select Delete to remove the backup associated with the action.
Delete and Clear Account to remove the backup and clear the account name associated with the action.

Clearing account names in version history

If required, you can remove the user account associated with a backup version from the historical view.

1
Expand the Version Control Root node, and the required container.
3
In the History dialog box, select a version from the list. (Press CTRL and click to select multiple versions.)
2
In the bottom pane, select a version. (Press CTRL and click to select multiple versions.)
Related Documents