Rapid Recovery has a setting 'Allow Rapid Recovery to delete user created VMware snapshots' and this applies to when Rapid Recovery tries to enable Change Block Tracking (CBT), which it does when you bring VMware VMs underneath protection. In order to enable CBT a VMware VM must be free of snapshots, thus this setting will provide Rapid Recovery the permission to close snapshots that were create by entities other than Rapid Recovery. Keep in mind that when a snapshot is deleted the changed block inside that snapshot are committed to the base .vmdk permanently. This setting is not enabled by default in Rapid Recovery.
It is important to note that this ONLY applies to the enabling of CBT which Rapid Recovery utilizes by default.
This setting is located in 2 locations:
This does not apply nor has anything to do with the 'Consolidate VMware snapshots' jobs that exist in Rapid Recovery.