When a VSS-backup job is executed, the plug-in might generate one or more shadow copies (snapshots).
After completing the job, the plug-in sends the VSS subsystem a notification indicating that the shadow copy can be deleted.
Additionally, if the VSS job is aborted for any reason and the plug-in detects the event, the plug-in sends the same type of notice.
However, there are instances in which shadow copies are not deleted, which means that the VSS inadvertently stores obsolete shadow copies.
Sign In Required
You need to be signed in and under a current maintenance contract to view premium knowledge articles.