When migrating a Group, the Group in the Target Domain is not populated with the Target Users.
If a Group has been migrated first, migrating Users afterwards will not populate the Group Membership.
To ensure the migrated group will be populated, review the Considerations for Migration Sessions section of the Migration Manager for Active Directory - User Guide. Re-migrating a group many times is allowed and will not negatively affect the migration and it will not count additional licenses (will not create duplicates in ADAM database; is allowed and officially supported; group migrations can be done many times).
When splitting up domain migration in sessions you should consider the way that linked attributes (such as group membership) get resolved:
- Linked attributes always get resolved in the scope of the session. For example, if you migrate a group and its members within the same session the membership will get migrated.
- Linked attributes are also resolved for previously migrated objects. For example, if you first migrate users and then migrate a group the group will be migrated with its membership.
- Backlinks (such as member of) are not updated across sessions. For example, if you first migrate a group and then in other sessions migrate its members, the newly migrated accounts will not get
added to the target group. If you have to migrate a group before its members you can restore the membership by either re-migrating the group or doing full re-synchronization.
NOTE: When selecting users for migration it is advisable in the same window to use the Select by group membership option, which offers you two options:
Select groups for selected objects
Select objects within selected groups