Restrictions applied to a users profile when added to the default user policy group in the management console remain applied after the user has been removed from the default users policy group.
This condition exists when a users policy has been locked down by the changes made when being added to the default users policy group are not removed from the users object until the user is added to the default admin policy group and logs in with the account. This will remove all changes added by the default users policy and revert the profile back to the default settings.
Add the user to the default admin policy group and log in with the account.
Once the changes have been applied by the default admin policy setting, the user can be removed from the group.