I would like to modify the synchronization scope and going to unselect some of the OUs.
Will this change take effect immediately after I unselect the OU and close with OK and something else needs to be done.
What will happen if I unselect some of the OUs and close with OK, what will DSA do?
When you make some changes to a synchronization job properties the following message will appear: The changes you have made require full resynchronization of the directories. If you keep the settings delta syncs will not be available.
This means: if you dont stop the synchronization and dont perform a full resynchronization (by selecting Start and Resync) then dirsync will still process all objects which were selected before, the newly modified synchronization scope will not be applied at this stage, the tool will use the old settings.
To rephrase: when you perform a modification and change some properties this change doesnt take effect immediately. This tool works using the settings saved in an XML file, an din order to update this XML file one needs to stop synchronization and then perform a full resynchronization, only then will the tool save the changes to the ADAM database and then to the XML file and load the new settings from this file.
Example: OU1 has been selected and dirsync works. Now it became necessary to exclude all people residing in OU1 from synchronization and synchronize all objects from OU2 instead. You open the properties and modify the source scope and select OU2 and unselect OU1 and close the window with OK.
DSA will keep synchronizing all objects from OU1 and will not process any objects from OU2. If you stop the delta synchronization and then start delta synchronization again DSA will still keep synchronizing all objects from OU1 and will not process any objects from OU2. Only after you stop the synchronization and use Start and Re-Sync will DSA stop processing objects from OU1 and start processing objects from OU2 only.