The ExpertAssist Remote Management client MUST already be deployed (via a Remote Management element) to all computers being accessed via the User and Computer Lookup tab. Additionally, both User Data Collection (with "Collection logon and logoff session information" enabled) and Computer Data Collection (with Hardware, Software, and Startup/Shutdown collection options enabled) must already be configured on these computers for the reporting component of the User & Computer Lookup feature to be fully functional.
To locate a recent session on a particular computer, enter the Computer Name and/or Username and click the Lookup button. Wildcards may also be used in the search field for either Computer Name or Username.
Examples of Search terms (Computer Name):
Examples of Search terms (Username):
To locate a computer or user using the Active Directory tree, click the Browse link under the entry field for Computer Name or Username.
The computers and/or users found via the lookup are displayed in the list below the search.
Shortcuts are provided for the following functionality:
By default, most User and Computer Lookup shortcuts require one login per machine (per session) to the ExpertAssist client running on the remote computer. However, for browsers that support automatic NTLM authentication for local sites, it is possible to avoid the need to enter credentials when using this feature.
To do this you first need to enable NTLM for Remote Management (DA Setup Tool -> Remote Mgmt -> EA Connection Configuration -> Use the parameters in the URL -> Parameter string = /ntml) and then configure your DA Console browser for automatic NTLM authentication. For example, in Firefox, the about:config setting network.automatic-ntlm-auth.allow-non-fqdn=True can be used to enable automatic NTLM authentication for all internal sites.
NOTE: Client computers must be turned on with network availability for all computer shortcuts to work. Additionally, the ExpertAssist service must be up and running on the associated client computers. If this is not the case, some shortcut functionality will be disabled ("grayed out") and not available for use.