Do file/folder permissions remain after a restore? What about File Level Restore?
Maintain the NTFS permissions of a File/Folder
File Folder permissions do remain if performing a full back up operation because a full backup is a block based operation and does not interfere with the File System permissions. Therefore, a full restore would maintain File System Permissions.
If performing a File Level Restore from a Linux Savepoint, vRanger requires you to recover the Linux files to an intermediate Windows machine. When you recover Linux files to a Windows machine, you will lose the file permissions due to the incompatibility between Linux and Windows File Systems.
If performing a File Level Restore from a Windows Savepoint to Windows machine, the restored file(s) will take the NTFS file permissions based on the directory to where it has been restored.
To maintain Windows NTFS permissions, you may access the files under the %temp% directory, and by using File Server Migration Toolkit, RoboCopy, or similar tools as listed.