Collaboration Services 3.8 - Deployment Guide

About this document About Collaboration Services Architecture and functionality Before you begin Platform considerations Pre-Installation planning Prepare for use Collaboration Services upgrade Installation checklists Re-Installing Collaboration Services Troubleshooting

Prepare for use

After Collaboration Services instances are successfully deployed in the HQ forest and branch forest, you must export the branch forest public key file and register the branch forest in the collaboration structure.

1
On each branch forest computer where Collaboration Services is installed, click Start | Programs | Quest Software | Collaboration Services to open the Collaboration Services web interface.
2
On the Welcome screen, click Next.
3
On the Choose File page, click Browse to specify the branch forest public key file name and location and provide the password for this file to the HQ administrator. Click Next.
4
In the warning message box that appears, click Yes if you want to proceed with exporting the public key file.
5
View the Summary details, and click Finish.
1
On the HQ forest computer where Collaboration Services is installed, click Start | Programs | Quest Software | Collaboration Services to open Collaboration Services web interface.
The Configure Branches Wizard starts automatically when you first open the web interface.
2
On the Welcome page, click Next.
a
Click Add to specify a public key file (.AKF) to add a new branch forest. Supply the authentication password and click OK.
b
To temporarily exclude a branch forest from collaboration, clear the Enable check box next to its name in the Registered branch forests list. All statistics and configuration information related to this branch will be preserved until the branch is enabled again. To re-enable the branch forest, select the Enable check box.
d
Click Remove to remove the selected branch from the list.
4
Click Next.
5
In the warning message box that appears, click Yes if you want to apply your changes.
6
View the Summary details and click Finish.

 

Collaboration Services upgrade

Collaboration Services allows you to seamlessly upgrade from version 3.5, 3.6, 3.6.1 and 3.7 to version 3.8. You must use the Collaboration Services Service Account to run the upgrade. Collaboration Services can either be manually or automatically upgraded. The default and recommended mode is Manual.

Preparing for a manual upgrade

The Upgrade page of the Collaboration Services Properties dialog box allows each forest administrator to specify whether the Collaboration Services server should be restarted automatically after the upgrade is complete. Ensure these options are set as follows:

Performing the manual upgrade

Collaboration Services should be updated at all sites at the same time to ensure the minimum disruption between nodes. To upgrade, the administrator should perform the following steps:

Documentos relacionados