How to enable automatic restore ?
To protect the configuration database from power and hardware failures, Collaboration Services is by default configured to perform automatic configuration backup and restore. All mission-critical information is saved in the database file containing all currently existing collections, statistics, and the service configuration information. If a failure occurs, the service will automatically detect whether any configuration data is corrupted and perform an automatic restore.
It is highly recommended to have both automatic backup and restore always enabled (this is the default state).
Use the Backup & Restore page of the Collaboration Service Properties dialog box to adjust the backup and restore options.
In particular, you can specify:
• Whether and how often the automatic backup should be performed.
• How many backup files should be kept.
If you have applied significant changes to the Collaboration Services configuration, you may want to perform an immediate configuration backup. To do this, click the Backup Now button.
The restore options allow you to:
• Enable automatic restore (recommended).
• Select what backups should be used if restore from the latest backup fails.